Golden Week!

Standard

Yesterday, October 1st was Chinese National Day. The People’s Republic of China was founded on October 1st 1949 and later that year the government declared October 1st to be the National Day.

A picture of the special display for National Day we saw in Tiananmen Square.

I celebrated National by enjoying a delicious feast cooked by three of my wonderful Chinese friends at my apartment.

The delicious meal the ladies cooked!

National Day marks the beginning of the National Day Golden Week across China. Golden week is a seven day long vacation.  Traveling and shopping are two very popular ways for the Chinese to celebrate Golden Week.  Since we have the week off from classes and teaching Maggie and I decided that we would do the traveling thing and go to South Korea for Golden Week.  We will be leaving Wednesday morning from the local airport and will be flying into Seoul, South Korea! I am so excited!! I can’t wait to tell you all about our trip!

About rachelnachtrieb

My two passions in life are teaching and traveling and I have the opportunity of a lifetime this year to do both! I will be spending a year in China as a Maryknoll teaching volunteer. While in Jilin, China I will be taking Mandarin classes at a local university and teaching English to a group of nuns, as well as working with orphans and elementary school students on occasion.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

